TRPLD Logo

Three Rivers Public Library District
Enrich, Educate, Entertain, Evolve

FacebookTwitterPinterest Goodreads Photobucket YouTube logo

Save

Save

Search the Catalog

Join Our Mailing List  Wireless Printing

Locations:

Main Library - Channahon
25207 W Channon Drive
PO Box 300
Channahon, IL 60410
Phone: 815-467-6200
Fax: 815-467-4012

Minooka Branch
109 N Wabena Avenue
PO Box 370
Minooka, IL 60447
Phone: 815-467-1600
Fax: 815-467-1632

Kids Services, Information and Events

Reading Levels and Useful Links

  • Find Books by Reading Grade Level
     
    Book Adventure: Allows you to find out the reading level of a specific book or create lists of books based on grade level and subject.
     
    Renaissance Learning: Allows you to find out the reading level of a specific book.

    The Best Children's Books: Find book recommendations from a team of teachers on what they consider the best children's books for any topic.  This site allows you to find the reading level of a specific book as well.
     
    Find Books by Lexile Numbers
     
    Find a Book with Lexiles: Search for books based on lexile numbers and interests.
     
    Suggested Book Lists
     
    Hoagie's Gifted Reading Lists: A collection of links to book lists aimed at gifted and good readers.
     
    Readalikes: Suggested similar books to ones your child has enjoyed at the same reading level.
     
    Young Adult Library Services Association: Suggested book lists and award winning books.

    Juvenile Series and Sequence: Find a list of juvenille series alaphabetically, along with the order of the books within each series.

OMNI Kids eReading Room

  • Visit this OMNI digital collection, where you can search exclusively for juvenile materials, including eBooks and eAudiobooks.  You can search by subject, collections, newly added titles and more.  There is Lexile number searching available as well.  Checkouts and Account information is the same as the regular OMNI site, but this collection shows you children's titles only.

     

TumbleBooks

  •  

    TumbleBookLibrary is an online collection of TumbleBooks – animated, talking picture books which teach kids the joy of reading in a format they'll love. TumbleBooks are created by adding animation, sound, music and narration to existing picture books in order to produce an electronic picture book which you can read, or have read to you.

     

    TumbleBooks

TrueFlix

  • Read Kids Books Online!
    Allows students to read Scholastic science and social studies books online, including content on the human body, space and  ancient civilizations.  All of the titles are supported with related content featuring videos, audio, images, text, lesson plans and  activity centers.

    TrueFlix

BookFlix

  • Scholastic BookFlix is a new online literacy resource that pairs classic video storybooks with related nonfiction eBooks for grades Pre-K through 3rd.  Features allow you to watch a video of the story, read the book, puzzler games and biographies about the author.  For use inside the library:  Bookflix. For use outside the library:  Remote Use.

FreedomFlix

  • Read digital books about historical topics. FreedomFlix includes embedded popup features such as maps, timelines, virtual tour clips, primary source videos and audio clips that bring history to life.  Books are aligned with common core standards, and features include read-along option, project ideas and quizzes.  For use inside the library: FreedomFlix.  For use outside the library: Remote Use.

World Book

  • The World Book Web is a suite of online research tools that includes encyclopedia articles, educator tools (including games and a World of Animals feature), student activities, pictures, audio, and video, complemented by current periodicals and related Web sites.

     



Upcoming Events