close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

Register 49 Seats Remaining

Chicago's Sweet Candy History

VIRTUAL ZOOM

2020-10-27 18:00:00 2020-10-27 19:00:00 America/Chicago Chicago's Sweet Candy History At Home

Tuesday, October 27
6:00pm - 7:00pm

Add to Calendar 2020-10-27 18:00:00 2020-10-27 19:00:00 America/Chicago Chicago's Sweet Candy History At Home

At Home

VIRTUAL ZOOM

Learn some of the history behind these tasty treats and explore what made Chicago such a powerful location for candymakers.

For most its history, Chicago produced one-third of the nation's candy.  You probably know some of them -- Brach's caramels, Mars Snickers bars, Wrigley's gum, Cracker Jack, Curtiss Baby Ruth bars, Tootsie Rolls, Frango Mints, and Dove chocolates. Leslie Goddard will cover some of the history behind these tasty treats and explore what made Chicago such a powerful location for candymakers. 

This presentation will be done virtually by Zoom.  Please register for this program to be sent the login information and instructions for Zoom.

TAGS: | Informational |

Channahon Library

info@trpld.org
Phone: (815) 467-6200
Fax: (815) 467-4012
Branch manager
Lauren Offerman

Hours
Mon, Sep 21 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Tue, Sep 22 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Wed, Sep 23 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Thu, Sep 24 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Fri, Sep 25 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Sat, Sep 26 9:00AM to 5:00PM
Sun, Sep 27 1:00PM to 5:00PM

About the library

Opened in 1981, the Channahon Library contains collections for adults, children, and teens; access to public computers, fax, and scanning; and a teen room.  It serves as the administrative headquarters of the library district.  

Upcoming events

Canceled
Sat, Sep 26, 11:00am - 12:00pm

Canceled
Sat, Sep 26, 1:00pm - 2:00pm

Canceled
Sat, Sep 26, 3:00pm - 4:00pm

Sun, Sep 27, 2:30pm - 3:30pm
Virtual Zoom
Registration is now closed

Mon, Sep 28, 4:30pm - 4:45pm

Mon, Sep 28, 4:45pm - 5:00pm

Mon, Sep 28, 5:00pm - 5:15pm

Mon, Sep 28, 5:15pm - 5:30pm

Wed, Sep 30, 10:30am - 11:00am

Mon, Oct 05, 4:30pm - 4:45pm

Mon, Oct 05, 4:45pm - 5:00pm

Mon, Oct 05, 5:00pm - 5:15pm

Mon, Oct 05, 5:15pm - 5:30pm

Wed, Oct 07, 10:30am - 11:00am

Wed, Oct 07, 4:30pm - 5:15pm

Wed, Oct 07, 7:00pm - 8:30pm
Pavilion

Sat, Oct 10, All day